Za’atar Allergy: What You Need to Know About Allergies to This Middle Eastern Spice

If you’re concerned about a potential allergy to za’atar, here’s what you need to know about the ingredients and potential allergens in this Mediterranean spice mixture. 

The most common food allergens are dairy, eggs, tree nuts, peanuts, shellfish, wheat, soy and fish. While most herb spice blends like za’atar do not contain any of these top eight allergens, it’s important to know the ingredients in everything you eat, especially if you’re at risk of an allergic reaction. 

Here’s what you know about the ingredients in za’atar, and what to look out for if you have a food allergy. 

What is Za’atar Made Of?

Za’atar is a mixture of various herbs, spices, seeds and seasonings. While there are different recipes for za’atar, our premium dry seasoning blend is made with a consistent recipe every time. 

Zesty Z Dried Za’atar Seasoning is made with:

  • Mediterranean thyme
  • Oregano
  • Sesame seeds
  • Sumac
  • Salt 
  • Sunflower oil

Is all Za’atar The Same?

Since we’ve developed our za’atar recipe with traditional Mediterranean ingredients to optimize flavor, freshness and crunchy texture, every bottle from Zesty Z is exactly the same. 

However, if you find za’atar from other resources, you’re likely to encounter other ingredients or ingredients in different proportions. It’s always best to check the ingredient list carefully before trying a new product. 

Is Za’atar Gluten-Free?

Zesty Z Za’atar, both our dried seasoning blend and the olive oil condiment, are gluten-free. They are also wheat-free, dairy-free and egg-free. 

Allergy Information for Za’atar

While the ingredients in za’atar are clean and simple, it’s important to note that the spice blend does include sesame seeds. Most people with tree nut or peanut allergies are safe to eat sesame seeds, but if you have any sensitivity or allergy to sesame, steer clear of za’atar to avoid a potential anaphylactic reaction. 

Bottom Line

For most people, there is no risk of a za’atar allergy. If you have a sensitivity or food allergy to sesame seeds, any herbs, or sunflower oil, however, do not consume za'atar.

And as always, read the ingredient list and let any food servers know of an allergy before you eat anything.